More About HKUST


About the Council

The Council is the supreme governing and executive body of the University. It exercises the powers and duties of the University as specified in the HKUST Ordinance.

Presided over by a lay person (i.e. someone who is not an employee of the University), the Council consists of non-executive members, the President, academic and administrative representatives, an elected student and an elected staff member, making a complement of 27. The Council normally meets in plenary session four times each year. The summary of decisions of each Council meeting can be found here. When the Council is not in session, an executive committee known as the Standing Committee of the Council meets regularly to discharge the function of the Council.

About_the_council_insidepage_topleft.jpg About_the_council_insidepage_topright.jpg About_the_Council_insidepage_bottom.jpg